Une journée à Marie-Galante

Today we offer you a walk in Marie-Galante. No need to say more, we leave you to your reading. Have a good trip.

 

 

 

Situated an hour’s boat ride from Pointe-à-Pitre, Marie-Galante still offers the authentic charms of insularity thanks to well thought-out tourism development and urbanization. Undulating countryside, rocky coasts, protected beaches, our idea of a program from the arrival until the evening.

 

8.15 AM – DEPARTURE FROM POINTE-À-PITRE AND

ARRIVAL IN GRAND-BOURG

The ferry company L’Express des Îles offers three departures a day from Monday to Sunday. For a day on the spot, the 8:15 am departure is highly recommended.

9:15 AM – SOUND OF THE BIGUINE

That’s what you hear when you get off the boat. After this “dynamic” crossing, the tropical welcome puts things into context. There is no shortage of car hire companies on the pier car park. We prefer to leave with a guide and his minibus to appreciate his point of view. Eric is married to a Galician woman.

10:45 AM – GOURMET BREAK

Before entering the Distillerie Bielle, an unavoidable stage of the day, we taste the dishes of Jojo placed just before the entrance. Vegetable pâté, chicken drink, and mango-guava homemade juice, a real treat.

11H – VISIT OF THE DISTILLERY BIELLE

Sugar cane takes 9 to 11 months to mature. Only one harvest per year in the hot season, between February and July. We are in June, the factory is running at full capacity. We follow the manufacturing stages from the cutting of the cane to the fermentation, from

distillation to storage. At the tasting, the jokes follow one another like “oh la bielle vie”… pa ni pwoblem.

12H – MOUTH BIG ABYSS

An impressive open-air abyss, this hole dug by nature reveals the sea. You can see the coasts of Grande-Terre and,

in good weather, the

Desire. The path leads to the national forest, a protected site.

12H – 12H30 – ON THE ROAD TO TASSI

On the right, you can see the wind turbines of Mont Constant, the highest point of Marie-Galante. Arrows lead to hiking trails marked out by the ONF. They remind us of the history of marooning. The slaves escaped by these paths.

12.30 PM – LUNCH BREAK

At the sugar factory restaurant.

1:30 PM – SWIMMING AT THE CANOE COVE

Translucent water, calm and smooth because protected from the wind, shady, deserted, wild because framed by nature… What else ?

2:30 PM – THE BAR OF THE ISLAND

Billions of years ago, two tectonic plates collide and a mountain range emerges that is called “the bar of the island”. Highly visible, it separates Marie-Galante into two: the low mountain and the high mountain.

3:30 PM – SAINT-LOUIS BAY

Before getting back on the boat (the crossing is always quieter on the way back), our guide shows us one of the most beautiful bays in the Caribbean.

due to its colorful, wooden Creole houses. Bordered by a field of sugar cane and small colourful houses, the fine sandy beach with its translucent water is right in front of Les Saintes. Add to this the sailboats and pleasure boats that anchor here, a spectacular sunset, a ti-punch… and it’s the paWadis.

16H – RETURN

From the boat, while waiting for the departure, the glance is lost in the thoughts and the landscapes pass again in our heads… We will come back Marie-Galante, be sure.

À LA CARTE EXCURSIONS AND RESERVATIONS

Espace Créole Loisirs – Conciergerie

Tel: +590 (0)5 90 90 23 69 – +590 (0)6 90 57 25 82,

espacecreole@creolebeach.com

Une journée à Marie-Galante

Nous vous proposons aujourd’hui une balade à Marie-Galante. Pas besoin d’en dire plus, on vous laisse à votre lecture. Bon Voyage.

 

 

 

Située à une heure de bateau de Pointe-à-Pitre, Marie-Galante offre encore les charmes authentiques de l’insularité grâce à un développement touristique et une urbanisation raisonnés. Campagne vallonée, côtes rocheuses, plages protégées, notre idée de programme de l’arrivée jusqu’au soir.

 

8H15 – DÉPART DE POINTE-À-PITRE ET

ARRIVÉE À GRAND-BOURG

La compagnie de ferry L’Express des Îles propose trois départs par jour du lundi au dimanche. Pour une journée sur place, le départ de 8h15 est vivement conseillé.

 

9H15 – SON DE LA BIGUINE

C’est ce que l’on entend à la sortie du bateau. Après cette traversée « dynamique », l’accueil tropical replace dans le contexte. Sur le parking de l’embarcadère les loueurs de voiture ne manquent pas. Nous préférons partir avec un guide et son minibus pour apprécier son point de vue. Eric est marie-galantais.

 

10H45 – PAUSE GOURMANDE

Avant de rentrer dans la Distillerie Bielle, étape incontournable de la journée, nous goûtons aux mets de Jojo placé juste avant l’entrée. Pâté aux légumes, boquit au poulet, et jus maison mangue-goyave, un véritable régal.

 

11H – VISITE DE LA DISTILLERIE BIELLE

La canne à sucre prend 9 à 11 mois pour arriver à maturité. Une seule récolte par an en saison chaude, entre février et juillet. Nous sommes en juin, l’usine tourne à plein régime. Nous suivons les étapes de fabrication de la coupe de la canne à la fermentation, de

la distillation au stockage. À la dégustation, les blagues s’enchainent comme « oh la bielle vie »… pa ni pwoblem.

 

12H – GUEULE GRAND GOUFFRE

Impressionnant gouffre à ciel ouvert, ce trou creusé par la nature laisse apparaître la mer. On aperçoit les côtes de la Grande-Terre et,

par beau temps, la

 

Désirade. Le chemin mène vers la forêt domaniale, un site protégé.

 

12H – 12H30 – SUR LA ROUTE DE TASSI

À droite, on voit les éoliennes du Mont Constant, le plus haut point de Marie-Galante. Des flèches conduisent vers des sentiers de randonnées balisés par l’ONF. Ils rappellent l’histoire du marronnage. Les esclaves s’échappaient par ces chemins.

 

12H30 – PAUSE DÉJEUNER

Au restaurant de l’usine sucrière.

 

13H30 – BAIGNADE À ANSE CANOT

Eau translucide, calme et lisse car protégée du vent, ombragée, déserte, sauvage car encadrée de nature… What else ?

 

 

14H30 – LA BARRE DE L’ÎLE

Il y a des milliards d’années, deux plaques tectoniques s’entrechoquent et font émerger une chaîne de montagne qu’on appelle « la barre de l’île ». Très visible, elle sépare Marie-Galante en deux : le mont bas et le mont haut.

 

15H30 – BAIE DE SAINT-LOUIS

Avant de reprendre le bateau (traversée toujours plus calme au retour), notre guide nous fait visiter une des plus belles baies des Caraïbes

due à ses maisons créoles, colorées et en bois. Bordée d’un champ de cannes à sucre et de petites maisons colorées, la plage de sable fin et son eau translucide est pile en face des Saintes. Rajoutez à cela les voiliers et bateaux de plaisance qui jettent l’ancre ici, un coucher de soleil spectaculaire, un ti-punch… et c’est le paWadis.

 

16H – RETOUR

Du bateau, en attendant le départ, le regard se perd dans les pensées et les paysages repassent dans nos têtes… Nous reviendrons Marie-Galante, sois en certaine.

 

EXCURSIONS À LA CARTE ET RÉSERVATIONS

Espace Créole Loisirs – Conciergerie

Tél. : +590 (0)5 90 90 23 69 – +590 (0)6 90 57 25 82,

espacecreole@creolebeach.com